The Presidents Cup History by TheGrint

The History Behind The Presidents Cup

The First Presidents Cup was in 1994 at the incredible Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Lake Manassas, Virginia.

Incredibly, this “tradition” was something almost from one day to another. Mr Deane Beman and Tim Finchem discussed this idea of the Presidents Cup at the beginning of 1994, and a few months later, they were already playing it for the First Time.

Since then the Presidents Cup has been played 10 times, where the US Team has won 8 Times and there has been 1 Tie.

This Year the Presidents Cup will be played at the Jack Nicklaus Golf Club in Incheon, South Korea, starting on October 5th.

This is how the Teams are selected:

USA Team:
– The top 10 U.S. players who earn the most FedExCup points, beginning with the 2013 BMW Championship through the 2015 Deutsche Bank Championship, with points earned in 2015 doubled.
– And two Captains selected on September 8, 2015

International Team:
– The top 10 international players (excluding those eligible for the European Ryder Cup team) from the Official World Golf Ranking through the conclusion of the 2015 Deutsche Bank Championship.
– And two Captains selected on September 8, 2015

If you want to learn more about this really cool Tradition in Golf, you can go to the Presidents Cup Website, get the latests News and read more about its History.

Let The Best Team Win!

Blog written by LadyGrinter
Author avatar
Golfer, Writer, and Grinter for life.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *